never been so proud of myself to kill something

30 04 2010

After weeks of trying, I finally caught/killed my first gopher. I didn’t check the traps from a couple days while it was raining. Low and behold when I finally pulled the cover off one of my traps it felt like death. Life loves death, and gopher was completely decimated by maggots, and there was a peculiar white fuzz growing in the hole. This made it hard to clean the trap, but immediately after it was cleaned it was reset and placed in another hole.
The next day there was a dead gopher just laying belly up in the middle of my field. I don’t know what killed it, but I like the trend.
Everything it being planted, weeded, and fertilized on a pretty consistent basis right now. The CSA starts in about 3ish weeks and will be ready. Plants are alive, and now wash sinks need to be set up, and we will be ready to rock.

Actions

Information

One response

10 06 2010
Jeremy

Funny…this lady just shared a gopher-killing method with me yesterday. She says to bury Juicy Fruit gum. The gophers eat it and it clogs up their digestion and the gopher becomes fertilizer… Sounds weird but maybe worth a shot. Anyway, I hope all is well on the farm. Hopefully the weather has been nicer for you. I’m still working at Wintergreen farm and all the rain has really set us back. But the forecast looks up, meaning much more work for me. If you ever find time this summer I’d gladly show you around our farm. Take care guys! -Jeremy

Leave a Reply

