having a dead mouse in a pail of antifreeze.

17 11 2008

This entry really has nothing to do with the title.  It is just what needed to be said.

It had become important that we have to move our goats from their current location in our back yard.  The back yard is great for them.  Completely enclosed by sturdy fencing, the back yard is ideal.  However, they have consumed all the underbrush, and they are going to need a fresh forage area.  We sometimes move them around the property to eat, but when we return them to the back yard they still need some food.

We need another enclosed area for them at night that has good forage.  The new area must have enough room to graze, and a small shelter.  The goats do not like the rain so much.  Besides the fact that the goats are out of food, the worst part about their presence in the back yard is they use an enclosed porch as shelter.  This porch is where they hang out in the night and rain.  Totally covered in poop and awful smelling goat urine, the porch is now disgusting.  It is part of the human house, not an animal house.  So getting them moved out of the back yard and off the porch is imperative.  Also the dog food has always been on the porch where goats hang out.  It sucks always have to walk through animal shit to get the dog food.

On the day of Wednesday November, 12 Gabrielle and I decided to begin to remedy this problem.

In a more wooded area to the east of our shed there lays a small fenced off area.  A gate and shelter had to be built, and the fence needed repairs.   I quickly repaired the fence.  Sadie squawked on the baby monitor, and we headed to the house to snatch her up.  Gabrielle wore Sadie in the sling on her back, and we headed back to work.  We were trying to conceive, then build a quick shelter for the goats.  I looked for logs for post, and started sawing out some nice size posts.

I felt an stingy sounding insect land on my head and crawling in my hair.  Calling to Gabrielle to get the wasp out of my hair, I felt several more land on my head.  There were more wasps covering my shirt.  Getting stung, I ran towards the house, and Gabrielle carrying Sadie was right behind me.  The wasps had chased us up the driveway as we headed toward the house.

I could feel them in my clothes.  Nearing the the house I tore off my shirts.  Gabrielle still had some following her, and she said she was sure that the wasps had gotten into the sling Sadie was in.  Just about then Sadie wailed loudly.  I ran to them, and assisted Gabrielle in removing Sadie from the sling quickly and carefully.  Sadie did not reallly need to be stung again.

Gabrielle informed me that she was also stung.

Sadie was out of the sling and in my arms.  All of us made it to the house and stripped off the all our wasp laden clothing.   By this time we were far enough away there were not too many wasps left in the airspace around our domes.  I thought the bath would soothe our stings, and Sadie needed one anyway.  I got the water running in the tub, and Gabrielle took all the clothing and threw it in the wash.  Sadie was calmed already from the sting.  She and I got into the tub, and relaxed for a while.

This moment allowed us to assess the damage.  Gabrielle got stung once in the hand, Sadie once on her thigh, and I got stung once on the inner arm and at least four times on the head.  My head began to throb.  While we were in the the tub, Gabrielle got information on how to treat our wounds.  We had to monitor Sadie for allergies most importantly.  Then we went about getting the swelling and burning sensations to subside.  Antihistamine.

Gabrielle found out that our attackers had been yellow jackets.  Their behavioral patterns pretty much matched the wiki article.  She had also discovered our clothes that we stripped off yielded 6 more yellow jackets.

The goats are no closer to being moved than when we started.  I had a headache from the intense stinging sensation on my skull. Sadie never had any signs of allergies, and quickly recovered from her wound.  All in a days work.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

